THURSDAY, MAY 26, 2022
New York: 9:00 AM / London: 2:00 PM / Milan; 3:00 PM / Dubai: 5:00 PM / Mumbai: 6:30 PM / Hong Kong: 9:00 PM

WEBINAR SPONSOR
JIV SERIES 3
TECHNOLOGY SPONSOR

The world stands on the cusp of the next technological revolution, which will permanently affect the way in which we live, interact, recreate and do business. Popularly referred to as the metaverse, it will develop not as the result of a single scientific or engineering breakthrough, but rather because of a series of simultaneous and interconnected advances, among them virtual and augmented reality, the Internet of Things, artificial intelligence, 5G, blockchain, and the growing trade in cryptocurrencies and non-fungible tokens (NFTs).

The metaverse that is being created is a shared 3-D virtual environment that people access via the Internet. Wearable devices facilitating virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR) create a sense of physical presence in a digitally-generated world, which increasingly feels like it is real. Unencumbered by their physical location, time zone and even the languages they speak and understand, individuals operating in the metaverse can meet, play with and compete with one another, collaborate, create and trade.

As was the case earlier with the introduction of the computer, the Internet and the smartphone, no sector of the business community will not be affected or changed by the metaverse. And like those previous technological revolutions, the change will not just be adaptive, but fundamental – transforming the way in which businesses are structured, how their supply chains are monitored and managed, and how and what they design, manufacture, market and sell.

CIBJO’s Jewellery Industry Voices webinar on May 26, 2022, will focus on the approaching technological revolution, considering its elements, impacts and overall significance. It is entitled “JEWELLERY IN THE METAVERSE: Virtual, Augmented & Real.”

The webinar panel includes Mahiar Borhanjoo, CEO of UNI Diamonds, a data and technology company serving the international diamond industry; Elle Hill, the founder and CEO of Hill & Co., a diamond, gemstone and jewelry launch and growth consultancy firm; Laura Inghirami, the founder of Donna Jewel, a firm providing consulting services to jewelry companies in the digital, marketing and creative fields, who was named by Forbes Italia earlier this year as one of the top Under-30 leaders of the future; and Erik Jens, the founder and CEO of LuxuryFintech.com, which focuses on blockchain and cryptocurrencies, for reengineering banking and finance models for the luxury industry sector, and more particularly the jewellery and art worlds.

The seminar will be co-moderated by Edward Johnson and Steven Benson, and CIBJO President Gaetano Cavalieri will welcome participants.

The webinar is sponsored by UNI Diamonds, which is also the Technology Sponsor of Jewellery Industry Voices Season 3.

VIEW WEBINAR VIDEO
THURSDAY, APRIL 28, 2022
New York: 9:00 AM / London: 2:00 PM / Milan; 3:00 PM / Dubai: 5:00 PM / Mumbai: 6:30 PM / Hong Kong: 9:00 PM

WEBINAR SPONSOR
JIV SERIES 3
PEARL SPONSOR

When it comes to marketing jewellery to socially and environmentally aware Millennial and Gen Z consumers, pearls should be a slam dunk. Cultivated rather than mined, requiring pristinely maintained marine biospheres, and often supporting communities at risk of extreme climactic events, these much-loved biogenic treasures also have the rare distinction of being among the few truly sustainable gem varieties in existence.

Where the pearl industry lags, however, is in its capacity to mount a coordinated marketing approach, highlighting those key qualities which should attract younger and sustainability-conscious consumers. This is in stark contrast to the diamond, gold and coloured gemstone sectors, all of which are served by international associations, and in the instance of diamonds and gold by bodies dedicated to category marketing.

While the benefits of generic marketing would seem patently obvious for the pearl sector, the task of establishing a structure that could manage such an undertaking is fraught with difficulty, and its operation would be restrictively expensive. But there are solutions that, while falling short of what is being done in the gold and diamond sectors, could nonetheless coordinate the messaging of pearl companies around the word, while at the same time enabling each of them to strengthen their own brand identities.

CIBJO’s Jewellery Industry Voices webinar on April 28, 2022, will focus on the potential of developing a collective marketing strategy for pearls, with the cooperation of independent companies around the world. It is entitled “A GLOBAL PEARL NARRATIVE: The Case for Generic Promotion.”

The webinar panel includes Christine Salter, Creative Director of Paspaley Pearl Company; Marion Branellec de Guzman, Chief Marketing Officer of Jewelmer; Shari Turpin, Owner of the Pearls by Shari brand; and David Norman, Owner of Aquarian Pearls.

The seminar will be co-moderated by Edward Johnson and Steven Benson, and CIBJO President Gaetano Cavalieri will welcome participants.

The webinar is sponsored by Paspaley Pearling Company, which is also the Pearl Sponsor of Jewellery Industry Voices Season 3.

VIEW WEBINAR VIDEO
THURSDAY, MARCH 18, 2022

WEBINAR 1
New York: 6:15 AM / London: 10:15 AM / Milan: 11:15 AM / Dubai: 2:15 PM / Mumbai: 3:45 PM / Hong Kong: 6:15 PM

WEBINAR 2
New York: 7:30 AM / London: 11:30 AM / Milan: 12:30 PM / Dubai: 3:30 PM / Mumbai: 5:00 PM / Hong Kong: 7:30 PM

WEBINAR SPONSOR
JIV SERIES 3
PLATINUM SPONSOR

HYBRID SEMINAR HOST

For the third time since CIBJO’s webinar programme was launched in April 2020, Jewellery Industry Voices will conduct two live seminars/webinars from the VICENZAORO show in Vicenza, Italy on Friday, March 18, 2020. They will take place before an in-person audience on the Main Stage in Hall 7 at the Fiera di Vicenza exposition centre, and be live-streamed simultaneously to a global audience via the Internet.

The first seminar, which will take place 11:15 AM-12:15 PM Central European Time, is entitled Emphasising jewellery’s positive impact on society, as an integral part of its value proposition. It will consider the cultural shifts that have accelerated among consumers as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, which have required jewellery brands to place added emphasis on the social value of their products and the jewellery, precious metals and gemstone industries.

Moderated by Edward Johnson, the first seminar’s panellists include: Charlie Betts, The Betts Group, United Kingdom, Hayley Henning, Greenland Ruby, Greenland; Justin Hunter, Fiji Pearls, Fiji; Huw Daniel, of the New York-headquartered Platinum Guild International (PGI); and Christopher Bull, Dimexon, Belgium/India.

The second seminar, which will take place 12:30 PM-1:30 PM Central European Time, is entitled Innovation and technology in jewellery manufacturing, supporting creativity and driving sustainable impact. The seminar is sponsored by Platinum Guild International.

The second seminar will look how new techniques in jewellery manufacturing, such as 3D printing, laser welding and innovation in alloying precious metals, are enabling manufacturers to create a wider range and type of jewellery items than was possible before, attracting a more inclusive and diverse range of jewellery designers. Furthermore, with a greater focus on sustainability in production, such innovations allow retailers to demonstrate the positive steps jewellery manufacturing is making to improve efficiency, decrease waste and reduce energy usage.

Moderated by Edward Johnson, the second seminar’s panellists include: Damiano Zito, Progold, Italy; Josh Helmich, Helmich Luxury Group, USA; Peter Crump, Vipa Designs, United Kingdom, and Kelvin James, Diamond Centre of Wales.

To be able view the webinars online, viewers are requested to register on the Italian Exhibition’s Jewellery Golden Cloud at: https://visita.vicenzaoro.com/reserved-area/digital.

VIEW SEMINAR/WEBINAR VIDEO
VIEW SEMINAR/WEBINAR VIDEO
THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 17, 2022
New York: 9:00 AM / London: 2:00 PM / Milan; 3:00 PM / Dubai: 5:00 PM / Mumbai: 6:30 PM / Hong Kong: 10:00 PM

WEBINAR SPONSOR
JIV SERIES 3
TECHNOLOGY SPONSOR

Moneyball was an Oscar-nominated film released in 2011 that told the story of the Oakland Athletics baseball team, whose general manager succeeded in putting together a winning season on a limited budget, by assembling a group of under-valued players. He did so by taking what at the time was considered an unconventional approach, and that was relying on a sophisticated statistical analysis of players’ performances. The success of the experiment, which was indicated by the team’s winning 20 games in a row, led to a general reconceptualization of how baseball players should be evaluated.

Like it once was in baseball, decision-making in the jewellery and gemstone trade has often been a finger in the wind exercise. Financial risk is a persistent threat, with decisions to invest in costly inventory based mainly on experience and intuition about what the market demands, or what it will demand in several months time. The reason for the unscientific approach was not only force of habit, but also a lack of readily available information.

Times have changed, however. A new category of jewellery and gemstone companies, conducting sales online and sometimes aggregating inventory from multiple suppliers, are in possession of massive pools of accurate data, on which statistically significant analyses can be conducted. What this means is that decisions increasingly can be based on measurable market trends, reducing the level of business risk and providing the possibility of taking advantage of sales opportunities that a company may not have earlier been aware of.

CIBJO’s Jewellery Industry Voices webinar on February 17, 2022, will focus on the growing use of statistical analysis in the jewellery and gemstone business, and the new tools and services that are available. It is entitled “DATA DRIVEN: Rethinking decision-making in the gem and jewellery business.”

The webinar panel includes Mahiar Borhanjoo, CEO of UNI Diamonds, a data and technology company serving the international diamond industry; Sophia Kravchenko, Senior Manager at Bain & Company in Moscow, who is part of the unit that annually conducts the consulting company’s widely followed review of the diamond business; Julie Yoakum, a Senior Vice President and Chief Merchandising Officer at Helzberg Diamonds, a Berkshire Hathaway company and one of the largest jewellery retailers in the United States; and Raj Mehta, a Director at Rosy Blue, one of the world’s largest manufacturers and suppliers of diamonds.

The seminar will be co-moderated by Edward Johnson and Steven Benson, and CIBJO President Gaetano Cavalieri will welcome participants.

The webinar is sponsored by UNI Diamonds, which is also the Technology Sponsor of Jewellery Industry Voices Season 3.

VIEW WEBINAR VIDEO
SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 12, 2021